ISO 9000 Series of Quality Standards

ISO-Procedure-RequirementsThe ISO 9000 family of standards is the exact same standard across the globe even though they are called by different names. Each member country has their own entity authorized by ISO to manage the standards, but they are all the same exact ISO 9000 quality documents and set of requirements.

What is the ISO 9000 Series of Quality Management System Standards?

Free Download

iso 9000
Free ISO 9000 Overview

The ISO 9000 series of quality – related documents was created by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) as international requirements for quality management systems. Now that ISO 9000 is in more than 178 countries with over one million registrations it is common in the business world.

The ISO 9000 standards are a set of international quality management system standards and guidelines. The term ISO9000 refers to a group of quality management standards which are process standards (not product standards). They were originally introduced as ISO 9000:1987.

ISO 9000 currently includes three quality standards:

ISO 9000 refers to the family of quality management standards as well as an individual one:

  • ISO 9000:2005 Fundamentals and Vocabulary in ISO 9000 Standards
  • ISO 9001:2008 (replaced ISO 9001:2000) contains the requirements an organization must comply with to become ISO 9001 Registered.
  • ISO 9004:2009 Managing for the sustained success of an organization.

ISO 9001:2008 lists requirements, while ISO 9000:2000 and ISO 9004:2009 are Quality Guidelines. People often say “ISO 9000 certified“, but what they mean is they have met the requirements of the ISO 9001 standard.

Read more about ISO 9001 Certification

The series is not industry specific and is applicable to any manufacturing or service organization. It is managed by Technical Committee (TC) 176, comprised of international members from many industries and backgrounds.

What are the older (obsolete) ISO 9000 Quality Standards?

ISO 9000 (1994) originally had three QMS models depending on the primary function:

  • ISO 9001:1994 Model for quality assurance in design, development, production,
    installation, and servicing was for companies and organizations whose activities included the creation of new products.

  • ISO 9002:1994 Model for quality assurance in production, installation, and servicing had basically the same material as ISO 9001 but without covering the creation of new products.
  • ISO 9003:1994 Model for quality assurance in final inspection and test covered only the final inspection of finished product, with no concern for how the product was produced.

All of these were combined into ISO 9001:2000, which is now ISO 9001:2008.

What Standards support the ISO 9000 quality family?

Other ISO quality standards were created to support the ISO 9000 family, and not all start with ISO 9xxx. Click on the link to buy a copy from Tech Street – the authorized reseller of ISO Standards:

  • ISO 10001 (2007) Quality Management – Customer Satisfaction
    • Guidelines for Codes of Conduct for Organizations
  • ISO 10002 (2004) Quality Management – Customer Satisfaction
    • Guidelines for Complaints Handling in Organizations
  • ISO 10003 (2007) Quality Management Customer Satisfaction
    • Guidelines for Dispute Resolution External to Organizations
  • ISO 10004 (2010) Processes to monitor/measure customer satisfaction.
  • ISO 10005 (2005) Guidelines for the development, review, acceptance, application and revision of quality plans.
  • ISO 10006 (2003) Guidance on the application of quality management in projects.
  • ISO 10007 (2003) Quality management Guidelines for configuration management
  • ISO 10013 (2001) Guidelines for Quality Management System Documentation
  • ISO 10014 (2006) Guidelines for Realizing Financial and Economic benefits
  • ISO 10015 (1999) Quality Management – Guidelines for Training
  • ISO 10019 (2005) Selection of Quality Consultants and Use of their Services
  • ISO 10017 (2003) Guidance on Statistical Techniques for ISO 9001
  • ISO 15161 (2001) Guidelines on the ISO 9001 for Food & Drink Industry
  • ISO 16106 (2006) Packaging – Applying 9001 to Transport Dangerous Goods
  • ISO 15489-1 (2001) Information & Doc’s-Records Management -Part 1: General
  • ISO 15489-2 (2001) Information & Doc’s-Records Management -Part 2: Guidelines
  • ISO 19011 (2011) Guidelines for quality management systems auditing
  • ISO 90003 (2004) Software Engineering – Application of ISO 9001 to Software
  • Etc.
Understanding ISO 9001 Training will show how to implement ISO 9001 in your organization. More info

ISO 9001 All in One Package